Grotto Falls

Well, it’s been a crazy past few months with school wrapping up and finals this week, however on the bright side photography has been going strong. Tomorrow I am heading down to St. Augustine Florida!  I will be visiting the beach and most importantly I will be going back to the St. Augustine Alligator Farm.

This past weekend I went to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park.  For quite some time now I have been wanting to visit Grotto Falls, which is a short hike off the Roaring Fork Motor Nature Trail.   When I got to the falls there were not many hikers there so I began looking for a good composition.  Just as I find the composition for the photo above, down the trail come a bunch of people. They swarm like a bunch of locus all over, climbing the rocks, getting in the stream blocking my shot of the falls… You get the idea.  Finally after waiting while they finished wading in the creek and the pool at the base of the falls, I had a 6 second window to take this shot before more people came up the trail and the situation played out again.  In the end it was a brief visit but a productive one.  I look forward to returning to this waterfall in the future and seeing what other compositions I can come up with.

www.flickr.com/photos/shafferphotography 

2 thoughts on “Grotto Falls

Leave a Reply

