SonRise 2013

This past weekend was Easter weekend and consequently SonRise happened this this past Saturday.  Having photographed SonRise for the past couple years, I decided prior to the day that there were certain shots I wanted to get, shots that I had pre-visualized what I wanted them to look like and was intent of coming home with at days end.  For most people, the market place is their favorite part with all the vendors shouting begging for your attention as they try to “sell” their wares.  There is so much action, kids running around, shop owners showing passers by breads, fruits, jewelry and spices. Having photographed SonRise in the past I was able to have a mental image of what each scene would comprise and so was able to imagine different elements of  a photo coming together, all I had to do was resist the bustling crowds and be there the moment the image came about.

This year I was able to borrow a 35mm f 1.4 L lens paring it with my 5D Mark II I was quite pleased with the results, not only with the low light images it allowed me to produce indoors but also for it’s sharpness when stopped down to f 8 as well as at f 2.  I found myself primarily using this lens, the angle of view is just about right for portraits and environmental portraits. It allows me compose the image with more of the subject and any props the subject may have as well as allowing for more room if needed with head shots.  Robbert Cappa’s saying “If your pictures aren’t good enough, you’re not close enough.” kept running through my mind, getting in close with a wide angle prime lens does not come very naturally to me, albeit it gets easier with time. Getting in close to fill the frame with my subject means I am getting into their personal space, they are allowing me in to capture an image.  The nice thing about an event like SonRise is the people expect to be photographed and don’t mind in the least.  I found that although I was using a prime lens it did not hinder my shooting. Some of the time I think photographers get rooted to one spot and just zoom the lens to get a “different angle of view” however when you have to physically move your feet, I find that I am more aware of what’s going on both in my viewfinder and around my subject.  Enough talk on to the images. 🙂

Leave a Reply

